Bartók World Competition & Festival

Usha Kapoor

31 December 1993

United States


Violinist Usha Kapoor made her solo debut at age seventeen with the Phoenix Symphony conducted by maestro Kei Harada. Ms. Kapoor is the recipient of many awards, including top prizes in the 2011 International Schmidbauer Young Artist Competition and the Phoenix Symphony Concerto Competition. During the 2016–17 season, she is making debut performances with acknowledged American orchestras, and is giving recitals.  She has performed –among others- at Carnegie Hall and has worked with conductors like Gustavo Dudamel, Sir Neville Marriner or Esa-Pekka Salonen. Ms Kapoor is also a recognised chamber musician, and as such, the fellowship recipient of the Aspen Music Festival. She is currently an Artist Diploma candidate at the Colburn Conservatory of Music, where she studies with Robert Lipsett.





Bartók: Rhapsody No. 1, BB 94 – 2. Allegro moderato (Friss)

J. S. Bach: Violin Sonata No. 1 G minor, BWV 1001 – 1. Adagio



Bartók: Sonata for Violin and Piano, BB 28 (1903) – 2. Andante

Ravel: Tzigane

R. Strauss: Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat major, Op. 18 – 1. Allegro, ma non troppo



Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216


Grand Final

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35