Bartók World Competition & Festival

Shoko Murakami

27 December 1991


Shoko Murakami was born in Sapporo, Japan in 1991.  She began playing the violin at the age of four and is currently studying under Heime Müller at the Musik Hochschule Lübeck in Germany. In 2015, she completed her Bachelor of Music degree at the Toho Gakuen College Music Department in Tokyo supervised by Tomoko Kato. She has participated – among others - in masterclasses with Leonidas Kavakos, Daniel Gaede, Nora Chastain, Pavel Vernikov, Alan Gilbert and the Tokyo Quartet. In 2012, she won 1st prize at the 28th Le Sprendel Competition in Japan, and in 2015 the 2nd prize at the Poseehl Music Competition in Lübeck.  She was a semi-finalist in the Postacchini Music Competition in Italy. Ms Murakami has performed Bruch’s Violin concerto No.1 with the Sapporo Symphony Orchestra, and Sibelius’s violin concerto with the Lübeck Symphony Orchestra.





Bartók: Rhapsody No. 1, BB 94

J. S. Bach: Violin Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005 – 3. Largo, 4. Allegro assai



Bartók: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1, BB 84 – 3. Allegro

Wieniawski: Polonaise in D major, Op. 4

R. Strauss: Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat major, Op. 18 – 1. Allegro, ma non troppo



Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218


Grand Final

Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2, BB 117