Bartók World Competition & Festival

Okaya Megumi

17 January 1992



Ms Okaya was born in Japan and 1992. She received her musical education at the Senior High School of Music at Tokyo University of the Arts studying violin with Kazuki Sawa and Takako Yamasaki, where she graduated from in 2010. She continued her music studies at the same institution mainly under the tutelage of Kazuki Sawa, but she was also taking classes with Eszter Perényi, Pierre Amoyal and Herwig Zack. Since 2016, she has been attending the University of Music at Würzburg with Herwig Zack. Ms Okaya won 2nd prize at the 7th Osaka International Music Competition, and collected two special prizes at the 33rd International Rodolfo Lipizer Violin Competition. She has appeared in numerous concert halls as a solo artists, such as the Tokyo Suntory Recital Hall or the Tokyo FM Hall. As the Japanese press has pointed out, Ms Okaya is one of the most promising young violinists.





Bartók: Rhapsody No. 1, BB 94

J. S. Bach: Violin Sonata No. 1 G minor, BWV 1001 –2. Fuga



Bartók: Sonata for Solo Violin, BB 124 – 2. Fuga. Risoluto, non troppo vivo

Bizet–Waxman: Carmen Fantasy

R. Strauss: Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat major, Op. 18 – 1. Allegro, ma non troppo



Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219


Grand Final

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35