Bartók World Competition

Competitors passed through to the Final

Kasprzak, Maya Alexandra

Kasprzak, Maya Alexandra

No. 9

Country: Germany

Date of birth: 7 October, 2005

Maya Alexandra Kasprzak represents three countries in the competition: she is Japanese, German and Polish citizen at the same time. She studied between 2017 and 2022 as Pre-College student of professor Latica Honda-Rosenberg at the Berlin University of the Arts. Since 2022, she studies with professor Tobias Feldmann at the University of Music and Theatre in Leipzig. She took part in masterclasses of Zakhar Bron, Mihaela Martin, Barnabás Kelemen, Guy Braunstein and Łukasz Błaszczyk. She was awarded the first prize at the Sainokuni String Competition in Japan, at the Hubay Jenő International Violin Competition in Miskolc, Hungary and at the national competition “Jugend Musiziert”, the Hindemith Prize of the German Music Council at the WESPE Competition in Lübeck, second prize at the Rudolf Barshai International Strings Competition, special prize at the Varga Tibor International Violin Competition, as well as third prize at the Arthur Grumiaux International Violin Competition and at the International Anton Rubinstein Competition. She performed with Aleksey Igudesman, Hyung-ki Joo, Daniel Hope and Zakhar Bron, among others, in important venues such as the Philharmonie Berlin, the Konzerthaus Berlin, the National Forum of Music in Wroclaw and the Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music in Zakliczyn.

Competition Repertoire


Bartók: 1. rapszódia // Rhapsody No. 1, BB 94a

J.S. Bach: 2. (a-moll) hegedűszonáta // Violin Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003 – 3. Andante, 4. Allegro


Bartók: Szonáta szólóhegedűre // Sonata for Solo Violin, BB 124 – 1. Tempo di ciaccona

Wieniawski: Variációk egy eredeti témára // Variations on an Original Theme, op. 15

Brahms: 3. (d-moll) hegedű-zongora szonáta // Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D minor, op. 108 - 4. Presto agitato

Veljko Nenadić: Two Movements – Impromptu and Perpetuum mobile for Violin and Piano


Brahms: D-dúr hegedűverseny // Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77