Bartók World Competition & Festival

Javus Quartet

Marie-Therese Schwöllinger (violin)

Alexandra Moser (violin)

Anuschka Cidlinsky (viola)

Oscar Hagen (cello)







The Javus Quartet was formed in 2016 at the Mozarteum University Salzburg by Marie-Therese Schwöllinger, Alexandra Moser, Anuschka Cidlinsky and Oscar Hagen. Currently based in Vienna, the quartet is particularly helped by Lukas Hagen’s guidance and continuous support. At the moment they continue their studies with Johannes Meissl in Vienna, but Eberhard Feltz, as well as Valentin Erben and Gerhard Schulz, both members of the Alban Berg Quartet, also represent a strong musical influence on the ensemble. Working with renowned composer Thomas Adès at the IMS Prussia Cove 2018 marks one of the quartet’s most memorable experiences apart from their time at the Musethica Festival in Israel playing alongside Jean and Agnès Sulem (Rosamonde Quartet). In 2017 they were awarded 2nd prize at the Chamber Music Competition C.R.D.M. in Udine and in 2020 the audience prize at the Irene Steels Wilsing Competition at “Heidelberger Frühling”. They have appeared at the renowned festivals Mattseer Diabelli Sommer and Musiktage Mondsee (artistic directors Auryn Quartet) in Austria and perform regularly on stages in Germany, Austria, Italy and Switzerland.





Haydn: String Quartet No. 59 in G minor (ʻThe Riderʼ), Hob. III:74 [Op. 74/3]

Bartók: String Quartet No. 4, BB 95 – 1. Allegro



Beethoven: String Quartet No. 11 in F minor (‘Serioso’), Op. 95

Ádám Brandenburg: Distances



Schubert: String Quartet Movement in C minor (ʻQuartettsatzʼ), D. 703

Bartók: String Quartet No. 4, BB 95