Bartók World Competition & Festival


19 October 2018


The 6 composers and their piano pieces that will be performed by the Junior Prima, Artisjus and Liszt-Awards winning pianist, Balázs Fülei and by the Meritorious Artist János Balázs, winner of the Liszt and Prima Awards at the Gala Concert on 25 November are (in alphabetical order):



Alberto ALASSIO: Bembe

Jorge Ruiz CASTRO: Deconstruction of a state of calm

DOBOS Dániel: Drumul Dracului

Sang Un KANG: 4 bagatelles „No Slow Movement”

Dongryul LEE: Le Tombeau de Harvey

STARK János Mátyás: Toccata


The winners will be named at the award ceremony before the Gala Concert. The first prize is 5000 EUR, the second prize is 3000 EUR and the third prize is 2000 EUR.
The winning compositions will constitute a part of the obligatory repertoire – besides Bartók’s prominent piano works – at the 2019 Bartok World Competition Piano Round.  




214 works were submitted from 53 countries to get judged by the Selection Committee by the end of the application period, 31 August. Faculty members of the Liszt Academy - chaired by the Head of the Composition Department and Vice-President of the Liszt Academy in Research and International Affairs, Gyula Fekete – were handed over the submitted music sheets and audio files supplied with anonymous codes only.

Back in September, the Selection Committee chose 12 pieces to be viewed by the illustrious international jurors: besides Gyula Fekete, representatives of the most acknowledged contemporary composers, Thomas AdèsChaya Czernowin and Unsuk Chin, pianist Andrey Korobeynikov

The composers of these 12 solo piano pieces were:

Alberto Alassio – Italy
Merdan Bashimov - Turkmenistan
Jorge Ruiz Castro - Spain
Dobos Dániel – Hungary
Sang Un Kang – South Korea
Dongryul Lee – South Korea
Oláh Patrik Gergő - Hungary
Stark János Mátyás – Hungary
Linda Uran - Croatia
Varga Abigél – Hungary
Alexander Voltz – Australia
Zixiang Zhao – China